Science and Technology Law

ASU Law’s Center for Law, Science and Innovation: advancing science and technology law and policy for over 30 years

Emerging technologies are rapidly transforming both the substance and practice of law in almost every area. Artificial intelligence, precision medicine, big data, autonomous systems, blockchain, 3D printers, drones, mobile apps are just some of the developments that raise novel legal issues with regard to regulation, liability, privacy, intellectual property, individual rights, and how lawyers and professionals practice every day. ASU Law is dedicated to training 21st century lawyers who will have unique expertise and competitive advantage in today’s legal world.

As science and technology assume central roles in our lives, economy, and legal system, the Center for Law, Science and Innovation is uniquely positioned as an innovator in teaching and applying science, technology and law. From robotics to genetics, neuroscience to nanotech, LSI’s innovative projects and programs constantly evolve to address challenging governance and policy issues through cutting-edge curriculum, practical experience, conferences and workshops, research projects, and scholarship.

The LSI network

LSI was built on, and continues to engage, a robust network of academics, policy-makers, professionals, and industry. Students and alumni fellows play a critical role in LSI projects, and have opportunities to learn from and work with interdisciplinary experts in their area of interest.

Joshua Abbott, Center Director

Gary E. Marchant, Faculty Director

Debb Relph, Program Coordinator

  • Michael Arkfeld
  • Arnie Calica
  • Dan Christensen
  • Larry Cohen
  • Kirk T. Hartley
  • James (Jim) Hennessy
  • Gerard (Jerry) Lewis
  • Keith Lindor
  • Dawn Marchant
  • Robert (Bob) J. Milligan
  • Roger N. Morris
  • Dr. George Poste
  • K Royal
  • John Shufeldt
  • Judge Roslyn O. Silver
  • Yvonne Stevens
  • Cory Tyszka
  • Raj Abhyanker
  • Arellano Alexis
  • Sarah Arnold
  • Casey Ball
  • Jamie Balson
  • Kalyn Behnke
  • Elizabeth Bertram
  • Samuel Blake
  • Benjamin Bryce
  • Lauren Burkhart
  • Michelle Burlin
  • Jennifer Chapman
  • Eric Chen
  • Danielle Chronister
  • Robert Clarke
  • Casey Clowes
  • Victoria Cook
  • Rachel Coor
  • Robert Copple
  • Alicia Corbett
  • Josh Covey
  • Michael Croweak
  • Rebecca DeWitt
  • Michael Donovan
  • Alek Emery
  • Alexandra Izuel Evans
  • Lauren Ferrigni
  • Diva Galan
  • Lundyn Garrett
  • Scott Gibson
  • Kia Grass
  • Chelsea Gulinson
  • Derek Hamilton
  • Katherine Hanna
  • Corey Harbison
  • Ashley Hardy
  • Tessa Hustead
  • Ross Kader
  • Amena Kheshtchin-Kamel
  • Lyn Gaudet Kiehl
  • Daniel Kolomitz
  • Peter Krehbiel
  • Vanessa Lancaster
  • Amanda Lewis
  • Daniel Libbey
  • Gabriel Abad Lim
  • Rachel Lindor
  • Kellie Manders
  • Ian McLane
  • Robert Makar
  • Anthony Marenna
  • Anthony Marino
  • Nathaniel May
  • Mason McCarty
  • David Medina
  • Courtney Moran
  • May Mowzoon
  • Jennifer Murphey
  • Neil Malamuth
  • Robin Nagele
  • Nisha Noroian
  • Justin Powley
  • Joshua Rayes
  • Rebecca Reiben
  • Brian Richardson
  • K Royal
  • Susan Russo
  • Heather Sapp
  • Daniel Schwiebert
  • Kristyne Shaaf-Olson
  • Angelica Simpson
  • Bridget Smith
  • Shauna Stein
  • Lauren Stewart
  • Tammy Thibodeau
  • Andrew Thiery
  • Lucille Tournas
  • Hannah Vice
  • Johnathon Webb
  • John Webster
  • Sarah Wetter
  • Kim Weidenaar
  • Racheal White Hawk
  • Gregory Wilmoth
  • Alan Witt
  • Karen Wohlgemuth



  • Joseph Cada
  • Summer Comstock
  • Nancy Craig
  • Alexander (AJ) Gilman
  • Ji Kang
  • Jessica Kemper
  • Daniel Neally


  • Colleen Contreras
  • Kaitlin DiMaggio
  • Drew Hensley
  • Walter Johnson
  • Christina Jovanovic
  • Steven Laxton
  • Erin Mitchell
  • Sarah Pook
  • Anthony Pusateri
  • Rachel Richman
  • Amanda Waters
  • Daniel Weiss
  • Benjamin Yeager


  • Emily Carey
  • David Carvalho
  • Rachel Crowley
  • Asha Devineni
  • Jessica Fitzgerald
  • Trent Hoffman
  • Kaylee Hoffner
  • Lauren Norton
  • Cory Owan
  • Alec Tyra

LSI invites anyone interested in getting more involved, developing collaborations and partnerships, or simply learning more about the legal applications of emerging technologies, to join the LSI Community Board. The Board meets once per semester to educate members about current projects and topics of interest, and to serve as a catalyst for new ideas and community connections. To join, or for more information, e-mail

Strouse Prize for Outstanding Law Students

Each year an outstanding graduate is awarded the Strouse Prize for their exceptional academic strength, personal qualities, and contributions to the Center for Law, Science and Innovation. The Prize was created in memory of Professor Daniel Strouse, whose wisdom, wit, and warmth enhanced the education of hundreds of students. Meet some of our remarkably talented winners.

Signature events

eDiscovery Conference

2018 Governance of Emerging Technologies and Science Law, Policy, and Ethics

Contact us

For more information, contact LSI Director Josh Abbott.