McCarthy Institute Banner - Columns of Courthouse

The McCarthy Institute

Subscribe to The McCarthy Institute newsletter



Collaborating to solve IP and branding challenges

The McCarthy Institute sits at the intersection of trademark law, marketing, technology, and consumer behavior. A joint-program with Arizona State University’s Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law, The McCarthy Institute conducts regular symposia, workshops, networking groups, and pursues original IP and branding research and scholarship.

Connecting the world’s best IP professionals and brands

The McCarthy Institute is named after J. Thomas McCarthy, its Founding Director and world-renowned author of the multi-volume treatise, McCarthy on Trademarks and Unfair Competition Law, which has been cited in over 7,000 judicial opinions. Over the past decade, The McCarthy Institute has grown into a community of IP and branding professionals focused on the latest developments in trademark law, the technologies powering brand development, and the consumer behaviors that make up brand perception. The McCarthy Institute strives to develop a better understanding of the way that culturally transformative business trends shape the law and vice-versa.

The McCarthy Institute pursues original research, publishes peer-reviewed scholarship, sponsors industry events, and hosts an annual symposium that draws hundreds of the world’s top legal and branding professionals.

In 2021, The McCarthy Institute joined Arizona State University’s Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law in Phoenix, Arizona.

The McCarthy Institute student information handout




Prof. J. Thomas McCarthy

J. Thomas McCarthy
Founding Director of The McCarthy Institute

David Franklyn

David Franklyn
Executive Director of McCarthy Institute, Professor of Law at Arizona State University

Russell Pangborn

Russell Pangborn
Partner, Seed IP Law Group LLP

Angela Lee

Angela Lee
Mechthild Esser Nemmers Professor of Marketing, Northwestern University

Elena Grimme

Elena Grimme
Associate General Counsel, Microsoft

David Bernstein

David Bernstein
Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton

Laura Chapman

Laura Chapman
Partner, Sheppard Mullin

Gordon Humphreys

Gordon Humphreys
Chairperson of the Fifth Board of Appeal, EUIPO

Shari Diamond

Shari Diamond
Howard J. Trienens Professor of Law, Professor of Psychology, Northwestern University

David Hyman

David Hyman
Professor of Law, Georgetown Law

Isabella Cunningham

Isabella Cunningham
Professor of Marketing, The University of Texas at Austin




Analysis Group
Banner Witcoff
Bereskin & Parr
Covington & Burling
Davis Wright
Debevoise and Plimpton Logo
Drinker Biddle
Fish & Richardson
Hogan Lovells
International Trademark Association
Jackson Walker
Lewis Roca
Morrison Foerster
Perkins Coie
Seed LLP
Shapiro Cohen
Sheppard Mullin
State Bar of Arizona
Thomson West
Warner Bros Media