Honorable Bernice B. Donald speaking to students and faculty at ASU Law during the annual John P. Morris Memorial Lecture

Signature Lectures


Honoring those who have impacted ASU Law

William Canby standing with Dean Leeds and Patty Ferguson-Bohnee during the annual William C. Canby Jr. Lecture. during the

William C. Canby Jr. Lecture

This annual lecture is named in honor of William C. Canby Jr., of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, a founding faculty member of the Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law and the Indian Legal Program.

Learn more

Bruce Myerson introducing speaker Sheila Heen, during the annual Bruce E. Meyerson Lecture.

Bruce E. Meyerson Lecture

This lecture series is the result of a gift to the Sandra Day O'Connor College of Law at Arizona State University from retired Judge Bruce E. Meyerson and his wife Mary Ellen Simonson, a graduate of ASU Law. The purpose of the lecture series is to bring to ASU Law leading practitioners and scholars in the field of dispute resolution.

Learn more

Black and white photo of John P. Morris sitting on his desk smiling.

John P. Morris Memorial Lecture

John P. Morris was the first—and, for a long time, the only—African-American faculty member at ASU Law. He had a lasting impact on those who knew him. This annual lecture series was established to honor his memory. The topic of each lecture relates in some way to the legal issues surrounding diversity and inclusion today. The lecture provides an invaluable opportunity for our students, faculty, and staff, as well as the general public, to learn more about the work being done across the country and the world to address inequality and injustice.

Learn more

Judy Stinson sitting in a maroon ASU Law chair smiling.

Judy Stinson Lecture

The Judy Stinson Lecture is an annual event featuring a legal scholar hosted by ASU Law. The lecture series is named after Judy Stinson, who retired in 2020 after teaching legal writing for 27 years. Judy's distinguished career includes both the Thomas F. Blackwell Award and the Rocky Mountain Award. Judy was the Director of ASU Law’s Legal Method and Writing Program from 1997 to 2011, when the program became autonomous.

Learn more